Exercise: Quick studies

Draw 5 sketches of the whole body using pencil (HB to 3B) or pen, including standing, sitting, crouching, kneeling and lying down.

I did 5 poses of myself for this exercise. I tried to be less scribbly with this, and tried to concentrate on looking at my image more that what I was drawing on the paper.

20120815-124101.jpg

Quick sketch – standing

20120815-124127.jpg

Quick sketch – Kneeling

20120815-124144.jpg

Quick sketch – crouching

20120815-124155.jpg

Quick sketch – sitting

20120815-124207.jpg

Quick sketch – lying down

The poses were standing, sitting, kneeling, crouching and lying down. The most difficult to do was the crouching as my legs were really beginning to hurt. I definitely didn’t worry about accuracy at all for these exercises, and I have ended up making myself very large and curvy in some sketches. I’m still a bit scribbly with my marks although I think I have done better that previous sketches. It is also quite difficult doing different whole body poses of yourself.

About tiffanymclean

I am studying towards a creative arts Degree with the Open College of the Arts. I hope to eventually train to become an Arts Therapist.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Drawing 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

