Exercise: Line drawing of the whole figure

20120816-104041.jpg

Line drawing – Standing

For this exercise I had to draw a line drawing of the whole figure. I first did a pose of me standing up. I don’t think this turned out quite right, and I made a few mistakes on the arm by making it too slim. I’ve left the original pencil marks to the piece. I don’t think the top I was wearing helped as it was baggy below the bust.

20120816-104050.jpg

Line drawing – sitting

I redid a full pose but with me sitting down and in a different top, and I am a lot happier with how this has turned out. I also added a bit of background detail to me me in context of an environment. I think I could have made my right leg wider and my feet look a bit too pointy.

20120816-104058.jpg

Line drawing – face

I also did a detailed line drawing of my face, and used the method from the book The Fundamentals of Drawing Portraits where the face is divided in boxes. The front view of the face is 7 boxes high by 5 boxes wide, and the side view of the face is 7 boxes by 7 boxes. I found this really helpful, and before i did a line drawing of my face I divided a picture of a photo of my first. I thin it’s really helped my to get the proportions of my face better than in previous drawings.

Barber, B. (2003) The Fundamentals of Drawing Portraits: A Practical and Inspirational Course, London: Arcturus Publishing Limited.

About tiffanymclean

I am studying towards a creative arts Degree with the Open College of the Arts. I hope to eventually train to become an Arts Therapist.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Drawing 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

